Amazing Aurora

aurora_kwon_960
NASA

Aurora borealis, the Northern Lights, is one of the most beautiful phenomenon we have on Earth. It is caused by particles from the Sun’s atmosphere that reach Earth’s atmosphere. As the two collide, different colored light is produced, depending on the chemical element and altitude. The lights can shine anywhere from 50-400 miles above the surface of Earth!

Aurora borealis is generally only visible near the North magnetic pole. But wait, there’s more! There are lights near the Southern magnetic pole as well, known as Aurora australis. These names mean “dawn of the north” and “dawn of the south,” named after Aurora, the Roman goddess of the dawn.

Areas with limited light pollution provide the best views for the lights. The photo above shows Aurora borealis in a village in Northern Canada that satisfies this criterion.

Have you ever wanted to create your our Aurora borealis?! Well now you can! This link allows you to generate the Northern Lights display of your choice. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Amazing Aurora

  1. Awesome post! I saw the Aurora this summer in northern Michigan. I felt very lucky to have seen it because usually you can’t see it in Michigan because it’s too far south. I believe every one should try to see the Aurora at some point in there life because it is a truly amazing experience and you will never forget it!

    Like

  2. I had no idea that the Auroras were created by the magnetic field, but this is really cool news! I’ve always wanted to go see the Auroras borealis. Now when I go I will know what causes it and why it has its name.

    Like

  3. Grader here, This is awesome. My mother told me about her drive from Florida to Alaska to see the lights. I hope one day I get to see them myself, but im about to follow your link.

    Like

Leave a Reply

